Day 96/366

How a photo geek spends his evening.

When I got my first DSLR back in 2005, my D70s, I read the manual cover to cover. I probably didn’t truly understand a fraction of what I read, and forgot most of it. OK cool, this thing had all kinds of features, but I didn’t know why it had the features, or how they would apply to me. I got my D7000 about a year and a half ago, and again, I sat down and read the manual, but this time I actually knew what I was reading and why I would use a certain feature. I even found things that I knew my D70s had, but never used the feature because I had forgotten all about it. I guess the long-winded point to all this is sometimes it’s better to just play with someone and see what it does for yourself, then go back and give yourself the formal education. I’m approaching my editing software the same way. I’ve been using Lightroom since version 1, and decided to make the jump to 4. Now that I’ve been using the program for years, I’m going to finally learn the finer points. I’ve made do with what I’ve discovered on my own, but I want to really explore all of the program’s features in much greater depth because I know there are tools that I don’t use, and I know there are features I don’t fully understand.

I picked up the Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4 book by Martin Evening in hopes of furthering my post production understanding, and improving my workflow. I’ve never read a book by this author, but I liked the reviews for it better than the Scott Kelby rendition. I can’t say I’m unhappy with the books that I have written by Kelby, but I feel like he tries to oversimplify things to cater to a broader audience.

Now that I’ve spent the better part of my evening thinking of a shot, and explaining to you why I’m reading a book, I’m going to finally sit down and read the book lol

2 thoughts on “Day 96/366

    • So far I’m enjoying it, but I haven’t made it terribly far. Despite being familiar with a lot of the basics, I’m still reading it cover to cover in hopes of learning something new. I have Kelby’s LR 1 book, and found it very informative and useful at the time. I have a few other books by Kelby as well, and have never regretted a purchase. As far as LR 4, when I first used the beta I didn’t see much point in the new version, but after using it for over a month and then going back to 3, I realized how much the new features really did. You have a lot more control over your shadow areas for one. Also, the raw processing is much truer to what things look like on my cameras display. In 3, everything was always darker than I expected when I uploaded it. In 4 this isn’t an issue.

Leave a Reply

