Day 94/366

On my way home today I saw a turtle on the side of the road in front of my house. I pulled into the driveway and went to move the turtle to safety only to discover it was a snapping turtle! While I wish it were an alligator snapping turtle (Macrochelys temminckii), it’s was a common snapping turtle (Chelydra serpentina). I picked him up from behind by his shell  and he started jerking and snapping at me, so I put him back down. I had no idea they could extend their neck as far as this one did. He was easily reaching half the length of his body. My neighbor came over with a shovel and a wheelbarrow, and we transported him over to a nearby pond. If that’s where he came from to begin with, then he had to cross two roads to do so. I surprised, and thankful some idiot didn’t hit him. I snapped this shot with my cell phone once we got him to the edge of the pond, and then ran back to my house to grab my D7000, but by the time I returned the turtle was nowhere to be seen.

One thought on “Day 94/366

Leave a Reply

