Chicago

I’ve lived in IL for 24 of the (almost) 30 years that I’ve been on this big blue marble, and believe it or not, I had never been to Chicago until very recently. Living so close to St. Louis, as a teenager, I just assumed that all cities were the same. Why drive 5 hours when I could drive 30 minutes? Over time, life brought me to Austin, San Antonio, Minneapolis, Los Angeles, DC, and several other cities. None of them impressed me. It wasn’t until I visited Portland last August that I realized a city could be so much more more than parking lots and buildings. I had heard from several people that Chicago was their favorite city to visit, so maybe I really was missing out on something. Well, I finally took the time to visit Chicago, and I have to say I was impressed. There is so much to do in the downtown area that there is no way to take it all in in a single weekend. A few of my favorite places were Yolk, Kuma’s Corner, the Shedd Aquarium, and all of the amazing hot dog stands.

One of the biggest differences between Chicago and St. Louis that I noticed right away was the amount of pedestrian traffic. There are people walking and biking everywhere. The only time you see more than 5 people walking anywhere in St. Louis is to a Cardinals game.  The city also has some really amazing architecture.

Megan and I had a lot of fun exploring the city on foot. We saw a lot, did a lot, and ate some fabulous food. We can’t wait to go back. Here are few of my favorites from the trip. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Chicago

Leave a Reply

