Day 32/366

I’m posting a tad later then usual. I was out and about, and by the time I got to take my photo for the day the sun was going down. I had a pretty good idea that was how the day was going to go, so I had already expected to be taking a sunset photo today. If you’ve glanced below you’ve noticed that there are no sunsets to be seen. I was driving around trying to find a good spot to make for an interesting sunset, started to run out of time, and settled on a semi open area. I really wasn’t happy with what I saw, and happened to turn around to find a barn. I snapped a few quick sunset shots, just in case, then headed across the highway to explore a bit. I was looking for something that really stood out to me on the barn, when I peeked around back and saw this glorious, old, white tractor.

As an aside, this is the first photo that I’ve edited the new Lightroom 4 beta. It’s free to anyone until the end of March, when the full version comes out. Normally I edit all of my photos in Lightroom 3, but figured I’d see what was new. I’ve been using Lightroom since version 1 and absolutely love it. It’s much more intuitive to use than Photoshop has ever been, and it’s a great all around RAW editor. Do you shoot JPG or RAW, and what is your editing software of choice?

Here is the color version for those that are curious…

8 thoughts on “Day 32/366

  1. First, love this! Second, I almost want to see it in color because you said it was white…but I can understand the B&W. When I shoot I have my camera save both the jpeg and the RAW. I love that I have both types for whatever reason I guess. It makes for a lot of deleting but that’s ok because I can use the jpeg when I want but I feind I use the RAW files most often . I’ve never tried lightroom because I’ve only ever had access to PSE and PS(CS2) but I keep hearing so much about LR that I might have to do some digging. I have so many actions in PS though, I imagine it would be a PITA to transfer them.

      • Oh, I love it too. It has such a look about it…both fabulous pictures and you can’t go wrong with either of them! Thanks for posting it 😉

    • I shoot in JPG and RAW if I’m on vacation or something and don’t want to have to do the post processing on a 1000 images. The RAW file is there for the “wow” photos that I want to do more with though. Most of the time I shoot strictly RAW though. I’ve never used Photoshop Elements, but I’ve used PS CS2 and CS3. I’ve never messed with any photoshop plugins or actions though, so I didn’t have to worry about transferring any of that. I could just never get the hang of PS for some reason. I felt like everything that I wanted to do was hidden in with all of the other graphic design type stuff, and didn’t know where to look. I can edit photos in LR much MUCH faster, and everything feels very straight forward to me. It’s easier to just play and see how things turn out. You don’t have to worry about a bunch of layers and stuff. PS is still capable of a lot more though; you can’t remove people and light posts in LR. for example. From what I have read, the “pros” say that they can do 99% of what they need to do in LR, but occasionally still have to go into PS for heavy retouching, and creative sharpening.

  2. Wow, great shots Denzil, i luke more the b&w, which is kind of unusual as I’m such a big fun of colors.
    I shoot raw, and edit in photoshop, not always… But some time soon I should try lightroom.

  3. I love this, prefer the b&w but interesting to see the colour. It’s a great “museum” photo. Pictures of the past.
    Can’t answer the editing question, I’m a camera idiot (I just use the basic thing in my computer), but I’m going to have to learn. I need to improve food photos on my blog;

    • Don’t worry, I’m a kitchen idiot, and I probably couldn’t learn French at this point if I had to. Your food photos look great already. You’ve already got great composition, and no camera or editing program handles that. The main purpose behind editing software is when you shoot in RAW. Cameras that shoot JPG do all of the processing internally; it handles the color saturation and contrast on its own. Shooting in RAW is kind of like turning the EQ on a stereo to flat. It gives a baseline image, but one that contains far more information. You have to use editing software like Lightroom, Aperture, or Photoshop, to manually adjust the levels that would have been taken care of had the image been a JPG. It just gives you more control over the finished product. For example, the green in my color photo was way to vibrant, so I reduced the saturation a bit so it wasn’t as distracting, and you could focus more on the colors of the main subject.

  4. Cool! The b&w is my fave.
     
    what a great blog this is. thanks for sharing all these brilliant clicks and their stories. am bookmarking your site & am looking forward to a return visit. thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

