The One Lovely Blog Award

Today I was nominated by Lemony(Gr)Egghead for the One Lovely Blog Award. She has a wonderful blog, and I highly recommend paying her a visit.

I’m very flattered and excited to accept this nomination. I’m relatively new to the world of blogging, and until today, I didn’t even know things like this took place. As part of accepting this nomination I must say a bit about myself, and also recognize a few other photography blogs that I feel should be nominated.

A bit about myself…

I began pursuing photography as a hobby while I was stationed in Minot, ND with the United States Air Force back in late 2005. I had a decent point and shoot that I got for the purpose of documenting my travels, and the friends that I had made along the way. I had a few friends in a local band there, and started snapping a few pictures for them while I was watching their shows. The camera had very limited manual capabilities, but I was still able to manipulate shutter speed enough to experiment. I quickly realized that to explore further I needed more control. At the recommendation of another photographer, I purchased my first dSLR, a Nikon D70s. After that, I started to explore other genres of photography, and while concert photography sparked my interest in the craft, I really don’t have much desire to shoot shows anymore.

After I got out of the military in December of 2007, I moved back to the St. Louis area. I thought that  would have so much to shoot, and would dive even deeper into my hobby. The exact opposite happened. I hit a huge creative wall, and didn’t pick up my camera again until August of 2010. A friend of mine from high school liked the photos I had taken in ND, and asked me to take some photos for her. If it wouldn’t have been for her, I don’t know that I would have ever picked my camera back up. From that point on, I knew I never wanted neglect my camera again, and would take ever opportunity to shoot. Photography is no longer just a hobby for me, it’s now a passion. Maybe someday I’ll even be able to support myself as a professional photographer.

Beyond photography, I recently graduated with a Bachelor’s of Science in Biology. I hope to support the conservation effort as a Wildlife Biologist. I also love the outdoors, backpacking, hockey, video games, and craft beer.

My nominations…

http://singhmv365.wordpress.com/

http://shotbykellyvandensaffele.wordpress.com/

http://imonnetphoto.wordpress.com/

http://tracyzhangphoto.wordpress.com/

Thanks again for the nomination, and thanks to each member of this wonderful community that I’ve had the pleasure of interacting with!

6 thoughts on “The One Lovely Blog Award

  1. Hi! Sorry for the late response… and thank you so much for this nomination! I’m curious to see the other 3, I’m going to check their blogs in a minute 🙂

Leave a Reply

