A Strange Parade

I happened to be at the right place at the right time about 3 weeks ago. A friend of mine was getting married in historic St. Charles, MO, and I was wandering around while the wedding party was getting ready. I was not the photographer for the wedding, but still had my camera with me, so I figured I’d explore a bit. I stepped outside, and to my immediate left was a horse drawn carriage. Being that I was at a wedding I didn’t think too much of it, but then I looked right and saw people in costumes. Apparently, St Charles has an annual Christmas parade down Main Street every weekend between Thanksgiving and Christmas. It isn’t a normal parade though, there were people dressed in Old English clothing waving and greeting people, and talking with English accents. I saw Queens and Jesters, a variety of Santas, and I’m pretty sure I saw Amelia Earhart. Everyone participating seemed to really enjoy their roles, and went out of their way to make sure they put on a memorable performance.

4 thoughts on “A Strange Parade

  1. It was definitely the most unique parade I’ve ever stumbled upon, and a very pleasant surprise. If it wasn’t for the wedding I wouldn’t have had my camera on me either. I have, however, made it a point to take my camera and at least one lens every where I go since the start of my 365 day photo project though.

Leave a Reply

