Day 17: Technology

I thought I’d portray how much the way we experience music has changed.

It’s amazing how far music technology has come. I used to haul around several clunky CD booklets. Now I can fit my entire library in an iPod about the size of a deck of cards, and dock it in my car. While I still purchase physical CD’s from select artists, most of my music is purchased online, and never held in my hands. Artwork, and booklets are forgotten, and most of the time I don’t even know the names of the tracks. CD’s aren’t played through dedicated stereos, they’re ripped to a music library on a computer, and can even be streamed to your television. When I was really little, one of my parents’ vehicles still had an 8-track tape deck, we had a record player, and cassette tapes were mainstream. I didn’t worry about corrupted files, or even scratched CD’s, I had to worry about the tape being eaten, or twisted up in the reel. It wasn’t even a crime to copy a tape and give it to a friend. Now we have the RIAA, torrents, and sharing music is illegal. Things have really come along way; in some ways for the better, and in some for the worse. I can only wonder what’s next.

Leave a Reply

