Day 7: Fruit

I had a few ideas for this one, but the sun was down before I could get home from campus thanks to the time change. I actually had a lot of fun with this photo. The idea was to create that really bright, blown out background look you see in a lot of portraits. The setup was really simple. I took a sheet of printer paper, propped the top half against the wall, and set the apples on the lower half.  I used my 70-200mm lens to get some distance from the subject, and used my SB600 for lighting. My only complaint is the bright spot on the apple caused by the flash. Ideally, I should have had my SB600 coming from an angle, but since I had to use the tripod for my camera, I had no way to mount the SB600 elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

